Training Group & TDOs

Training Group

The Academy Training Group comprises Cheryl Evans (head of training) supported by Phil Moore, Ian Edwards, a number of specialists and professional advisors and a team of training development officers covering all 12 Road Safety GB regions.

The Training Group’s remit is to:

  • Identify the training needs of Academy members engaged in the delivery and facilitation of road safety
  • Provide guidance for Academy members on academic, vocational, accredited, alternative qualifications and training.
  • Develop and implement a Road Safety Practitioners’ Standard which will form a quality assurance minimum requirement for identified CPD courses promoted on the Academy website.
  • Communicate the activities of the Training Group to Academy members.

Training Development Officers (TDOs)

TDOs are an integral part of the Academy. They represent and link member local authority road safety practitioners to the training opportunities within the Academy.

There are TDOs in each Road Safety GB region as detailed below: some positions are filled and some are vacant.

East Midlands (1 – filled)  
Lyn Rowe • Leicester City Council •

Eastern (1 – vacant)

London (3 – 2 filled, 1 vacant)
Patrick Long • Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames •
Graham Curtis • Lewisham Council

Mercia (2 – vacant)

North East (2 – 1 vacant, 1 filled)
Ann Corbett • Durham County Council •

North West (2 – 1 vacant, 1 filled)
Sarah Collins • Cheshire West & Chester Council •

Northern Ireland (1 – vacant)

Scotland (2 – 1 vacant)
Colin Smith • South Lanarkshire Council •

South East (2 – 1 vacant)
Claire Harris • Medway Council •

South West (1 – filled)
Nigel Flower • Devon County Council • 

Wales (2 – vacant)

Yorkshire & The Humber (2 – 1 vacant)
Fiona Ancell • Nortth Yorkshire Council •

For more information about the TDO role please contact Cheryl Evans.